Creek Treaty of 1825

Articles of a Convention entered into and concluded at Indian Springs, between Duncan G. Campbell and James Meriwether, Commissioners on the part of the United States of America, duly authorized, and the Chiefs of the Creek Nation in Council assembled.

Whereas the said Commissioners, on the part of the United States of America, have represented to the said Creek Nation that it is the policy and earnest wish of the general government, that the several Indian tribes within the limits of any of the several states of the Union should remove to territory to be designated on the west side of the Mississippi River, as well for the better protection and security of said tribes, and their improvement in civilization, as for the purpose of enabling the United States, in this instance, to comply with the compact entered into with the State of Georgia, on the twenty-fourth day of April, in the year one thousand eight hundred and two; And the said Commissioners having laid the late Message of the President of the United States, upon this subject, before a General Council of the said Creek Nation, to the end that their removal might be effected upon the terms advantageous to both parties; And whereas, the Chiefs of the Creek towns have assented to the reasonableness of said proposition and expresses a willingness to emigrate beyond the Mississippi, those of Tokaubatchee excepted:

These presents therefore witness, that the contracting parties have this day entered into the following Convention: The Creek Nation cedes to the United States all the lands lying within the boundaries of the State of Georgia as defined by the compact hereinbefore cited, now occupied by said Nation, or to which said Nation have title or claim; and also all other lands which they now occupy, or to which they have title or claim, lying north and west of a line to be run from the first principal falls upon the Chatauhoochie River above Cowetau town, to Ocfuskee Old Town upon the Tallapoosa, thence to falls of Coosaw River, at or near a place called Hickory Ground. The next eight paragraphs merely give the details of the manner of payment and the plans for the final removal to the selected place beyond the Mississippi River.

In testimony whereof, the Commissioners aforesaid, and the Chiefs and Headmen of the Creek Nation have hereunto set their hands and seals, this the twelfth day of February, in the year of Our Lord one thousand eight hundred and twenty-five.


Commissioners on part of U. S. WILLIAM MCINTOSH,

Head Chief of Cowetaus.

The above document was also signed by the following chiefs and headmen from the following towns, and a number not designating their town:

COWETAU: Etommee Tustunnuggee; Ahalaco Yoholo. BIG SHOAL: Halatha Fixico. HITCHATEE: Josiah Gray; William Kanard; Neha Thluco Hatkee. NEW YAUCO: Walucco Hajo; Cohausee Ematla; Nineomau Toochee. SAND TOWN in Troup: Konope Emautla; Chawacala Mico; Foctalustee Emautla. TALLADEGA: Espokoke Hajo; Alex Lasley; Emautla Hajo; Nincomatochee; Chuhah Hajo. TOWN NOT INDICATED: Benjamin Marshall; Foshagee Tustunnuggee; Tomico Holueto; Tomoc Mico; Cowetau Tustunnuggee; Artus Mico, or Roley McIntosh; Oethlamata Tustunnuggee; Emau Chuccolocana; Yah Te Ko Hajo; Hoethlepoga Tustunnuggee; Forshatepu Mico; Nocosee Emautla; Abeco Tustunnuggee; Tallassee Hajo, or John Carr; Chilly McIntosh; Athlan Hajo; Tuskegee Tustunnuggee; Enaha Hajo; Col. William Miller; Charles Miller; Tallassee Hajo; Hepocokee Emautla; Hijo Hajo; Holahtau, or Col. Blue; Joseph Marshall; Tuskenahah; Coccus Hajo; Thla Tho Hajo; Samuel Miller; Otulga Emautla.

Executed on the day as above written (February 12, 1825) in the presence of John Crowell, Agent for Indian Affairs.

(Signed) WILLIAM F. HAY, Secretary.


WILLIAM HAMBLEY, U. S. Interpreter.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It on Pinterest

Scroll to Top