Masonic Lodges of Twiggs County, GA

Cool Spring Lodge, No. 185, F.A.M.

      153 years ago, in 1854,  a warrant for a charter of Cool Spring Masonic Lodge was granted. The lodge is still active.  The first officers were: Eli Sears, Worshipful Master; James R. Coombs, S. W. ; W. W. Lee, J. W. ; B. S. Carswell, Treasurer; C. B. Strickland, S. D. ; J. W. Summers, J. D. ; Thomas P. Smith, Tyler. Other members were Ira E. Perry, J. V. Chuning, William F. M. Brown and Noah McGowing
     In 1879 when the Cool Spring Church moved from Wilkinson County to Twiggs County four miles southwest of Allens Cross Roads (Danville), the lodge was moved to Laurens Hill (Laurens County), then later to Lucy Chapel Church (Twiggs County)  and at present to Danville, Twiggs County.
     Some members in 1862 were Ira Perry; W. J. Gallemore; W. A. Gainey; J. W. Summers and J . C. Carrol
     In 1873 the Worshipful Master was James Coombs. Some members: Robert J. Smith, R. A. Hill. T. G. Hill. D. G. Hughes and
Judge J. E. McDonald. In 1899 Professor C. C. Saunders was a member.
     In June of 1898 the new lodge building was completed in Danville near the railroad. Dedicatory exercises were held on June 24, 1898 and addresses b y Col. W. S. Ramsay of Dublin, W. A. Wolihin of Macon and Hon. Dudley Hughes were delivered.
     In 1905 the "Blue Lodge" of Masons has elected "Uncle Peter" Barkwell, W.M.; D. G. Hughes, Jr., J. C.; C. R. Lamb, S. W.; S. A. Bryan, secretary; W. H. Bryan, Treasuer. Some 1908 members were S. A. Bryan, W. R. Haynes, J. T. Holloway. and D. H. Bozeman.
Sources: History of Wilkinson County, Victor Davidson; Proceedins of the Grand Lodge of Georgia  in Macon, Nov. 1854; Proceedings of the One Hundred and Twenty-Second Annual Communiation of the Grand Lodge of Georgia Free and Accepted Masons Held in The City of Macon Oct. 27-29 A.S. 1908; Macon Telegraph

Twiggs Lodge, No. 164, of Free and Accepted Masons

Officers 1857
John Glover, W. M. ; E. A. Wimberly, S. W; J. U. Burkett, J. W. ; Hardy Solomon, Treas. ; Wright Neel, Sec'y. ; S. Mithoin, J. D. ; W. H. Crocker, S. D. ; James Evans, Tyler

Officers elected in 1907:  B. B. Wimberly, worshipful master; J. P. Califf, senior warden; J. S. Cowart, junior warden; F. E. Wimberly, secretary; J. S. McCoy, treasurer; J. H. Adkins, tyler, J. G. Slappey, senior deacon; H. D. Hudgins, junior deacon.

source: Acts of the General Assembly 1857 Vol. 1 -- Page: 161; Macon Telegraph

Liberty Hill No. 308, Dry Branch 1876

Jeffersonville Lodge, No . 133, F. A. M.

copyright Eileen Babb McAdams 2004 - 2007